Year 11 students' successes celebrated at Record of Achievement event

The successes of our Year 11 students were celebrated at a special Record of Achievement event.

Guests of honour MP Maggie Throup and Melanie Lawson, Chair of Governors, attended and helped to hand out achievement folders and subject awards.

There were also a number of awards for outstanding effort and achievement in 2016 including the Headteacher’s prize which went to Hannah Taylor.

Aidan Sanderson won the Governors’ Prize, Owen Astill received the KS4 Team Prize, The John Spalton Prize went to Chelsea Parr and Billy Peacock was awarded the Outstanding Leadership award.

Headteacher Martin Ebbage spoke to the audience of students, staff, parents and carers.

He said: “This afternoon is all about this group of amazing people. I am very proud to see you here and relive the great number of achievements you have already made and there will be more to come in the summer.

“Without question this event is the best Record of Achievement for Year 11 that I have been to and we should hold on to that and enjoy it.”

Students Caitlin Marshall and Callum Woolgar performed ‘When We Were Young’ with Caitlin singing and Callum on the guitar.

Mrs Throup, Conservative MP for Erewash, said she was delighted to have been invited to the awards ceremony, which was held at the academy.

Year 11 ROA